Regatta 27th-29th August 2016

Dramatic forecasts of heavy rain and thunderstoms on Saturday didn’t deter an enthusiastic turnout of visitors to the Norfolk Punt Clubs 2016 Annual regatta this weekend. Sailing conditions were excellent with a moderate easterly on Saturday changing overnight to a light to moderate westerly on Sunday. Packed with rafts of moored flotillas on the western side of Barton Broad left the rest of the largest expanse of navigable Broadland water free for racing and helped the Race officers fit in the maximum amount of upwind sailing where the tactics and skills of the helms and crew can make the most difference.

479 entries over the two day regatta meant many of the trophies sailed for were keenly contested with a good turnout of Norfolk Punts being led home by two of the younger Punt sailors, Freddie Scott in Woodpecker for the Forbes Cup and Max Dixey in Jackdaw for the Sundog trophy and ending with a fine display by Simon Clayton sailing traditional Punt Decoy to victory in the Punt Invitation race.

The 28 river cruisers looked an impressive sight throughout the weekend with Chris Pank in Whisper leading the fast handicap cruiser fleet home to win the Domino Trophy and Hugh Ferrier winning the Pollit Trophy in his cruiser Goldfish for the slow handicap.

Although slightly down in numbers from prior years, the 18 strong White Boat fleet was as fiercely competitive as ever with Chris Bunn in Fox retaining the Lycaena Trophy once again and David Talbot winning the Tracey Tray in Red Admiral. The junior trophies also saw some very close racing with Will Pank in MBD taking the DeQuincey Salver and Charlotte Knight the Junior Allcomers Glass in Bluebird. A very evenly matched fleet of lasers within the Allcomers dinghy series saw honours spread quite evenly with Edward Wildman in Custard Cream winning the Dinghy Trophy, Jonas Osbourne in Laserblade the Waxwing Trophy and Jack Drew-Leventon the Nancy Oldfield Trust trophy in Bluebird. H Biss won the Carter Cup for Ladies in Faun, Peter Bainbridge in Yarmouth Helen was as consistent as ever winning both the Balholm Salver and Seafarers’ Trophy and Anthony Boardman delighted to win the Puffin Trophy in Swan, his elegant white Broads One Design ‘Brown Boat’.

As part of the Punt Club’s 90th Anniversary celebration year, the club reintroduced the Regatta Barn Dance on Saturday night which was kindly hosted by Cox’s Boatyard in their Main Boatshed decorated with large poster portraits of Norfolk Punts. The event was a great success with 200 people enjoying a fine hog roast, bar and dancing to the Keel Band.



Forbes Cup (Punts) Freddie Scott


Dinghy Trophy (Allcomers A) Edward Wildman

(Custard Cream)

Balholm Salver (Keelboats) Peter Bainbridge


De Quincy Salver (Junior Allcomers) Will Pank


Sundog Trophy (Punts) Max Dixey


Lycaena Trophy (YBODs) Chris Bunn


Puffin Trophy (Broads ODs) Anthony Boardman (Swan)
Waxwing Trophy (Allcomers) Jonas Osbourne

(Laser Blade)

Domino Trophy (Fleet A Cruisers) Chris Pank


Pollit Trophy (Fleet B Cruisers) Hugh Ferrier       (Goldfish)
Nancy Oldfield Trust Trophy (Allcomers A) Jack Drew-Leventon


Seafarers Trophy (Allcomers B – Keelboats) Peter Bainbridge


Carter Cup (Ladies) H Biss


Tracey Tray (Mixed Broads OD) David Talbot (Red Admiral)
Junior Allcomers (Glass) Charlotte Knight


Punt Invitation Race (Glass) Simon Clayton